Abid Hasan Minto elected president of Workers Party Pakistan

LAHORE: The Workers Party Pakistan (WPP) on Sunday elected renowned lawyer Abid Hasan Minto and Akhtar Hussain as its president and secretary respectively at the concluding session of the party’s founding conference held at Mehfil cinema.

WPP, formed after merging five-left wing parties, also elected Abdul Khaliq Baloch and Yousaf Masti Khan as vice presidents, The party also elected Sufi Abdul Khaliq Baloch and Yousaf Masti Khan as vice president, Naeem Shakir and Javed Akhtar as deputy secretary generals, AR Arif as secretary finance, Aisha Ameer Ali as secretary information, Hasan Askari as secretary agriculture, Safdar Hussain Sindhu as secretary labour and manpower and Hamza Virk as secretary for students and youth affairs.

WPP’s conference also elected its central executive council consisting of 35 members and also passed 16 resolutions on state units, democracy, gender discrimination, economy, inflation, terrorism, foreign policy and education. The party office bearers vowed to continue their struggle for the rights of the people.

In the resolution, WPP demanded the government to make Pakistan a real secular and democratic state and eliminate all discriminatory religious and gender laws and also allow all the citizens to contest elections. The party also demanded the government to abolish the feudal system, avoid taking loans from international financial organisations and provide free education, healthcare and employment to all the citizens. WPP also urged the government to cut military expenditure, ban atomic weapons, dismantle all terrorist organisations, maintain friendly relations with neighbouring countries and follow an independent foreign policy.

Source: Daily Times