PPP hints at coalition govt in Gilgit-Baltistan

Sunday, 15 Nov, 2009 (Dawn)

‘(MQM and JUI-F) are already in coalition with PPP in centre, so we look forward to join hands with them’: PPP leader. Above: Syed Mehdi Shah, President PPP Gilgit-Baltistan, greets PM Gilani during campaigning ahead of the November 12 elections. —Photo by APP

ISLAMABAD: After emerging as the largest party in the Gilgit-Baltistan legislative polls, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has hinted at the formation of government in coalition with MQM and JUI-F in the Hindukush region.

‘Mutahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and Jamiat Ulema Islam (JUI-F) are already in coalition with PPP in centre, so we look forward to join hands with them in Gilgit-Baltistan too,’ Syed Mehdi Shah, President Pakistan Peoples Party Gilgit-Baltistan, told APP here on Sunday.

He said that both JUI-F and MQM have won two seats each while the PPP now has 12 elected members after Abdul Hamid Khan, an independent candidate declared winner at LA-13, Astore-1, announced he was joining PPP yesterday (Saturday).

Besides, two other independent candidates are also in contact with us and hopefully they will announce their support for the PPP soon, Shah maintained.

He said the final decision for the formation of coalition or the nomination of the first-ever chief minister of GB would be taken by the central PPP leadership during the Central Executive Committee (CEC) meeting scheduled on Monday.

Meanwhile, responding to a query, the PPP leader denounced allegations of rigging in the November 12 elections, saying that neither any influence nor the state machinery was used by PPP during the polls.

‘If we had done this then we had all 24 seats of the assembly in our hands. You see there is distributed outcome, which proves transparency of the election process,’ said Shah.

He said that PPP has won seven of total nine Legislative Assembly (LA) seats in Baltistan region while others came from Gilgit areas. —APP Source

ECP announces official results of GB polls
Updated at: 1930 PST, Sunday, November 15, 2009

GILGIT: The Election Commission of Pakistan Sunday announced the official results of elections on 19 slots in Gilgit-Baltistan for the Legislative Assembly on Thursday.

According to the result announced, Pakistan Peoples Party has bagged 12 seats; Pakistan Muslim League-N 2 seats; Pakistan Muslim League-Q 2; Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam and Muttahida Qaumi Movement 1 each and; 4 seats have gone to independent candidates.

The ECP announced results of 5 out of 6 constituencies of Gilgit; all 4 constituencies of Skardu; 3 out of 4 constituencies of Diamir; 2 of Astore; 2 out of 3 of Ghazar and; all the 3 constituencies of Ganche district.

According to the results, the winners are: Razi-ud-Din LA-1 Gilgit 1; Deedar Ali LA-2 Gilgit 2; Muhammad Ali Akhtar on LA-4 Gilgit 4; Mirza Hussain on LA-5 Gilgit 5; Wazir Baig on LA-6 Gilgit 6; Syed Mehdi Shah on LA-7 Skardu 1; Nisar Hussain LA-8 Skardu 2; Wazir Shakil LA-9 Skardu 3; Wazir Hussain LA-10 Skardu 4; Syed Muhammad Ali Shah LA11 Skardu 5; Raja Aazam Khan LA 12 Skardu 6; Abdul Hameed LA-13 Astore 1; Muhammad Naseer Khan LA-14 Astore 2; Bashir Ahmed LA-15 Diamir 1; Janbaz Khan LA-16 Ghazar 2; Gulbar Khan LA-18 Diamir 4; Dr. Ali Madad Sher LA-20 Ghazar 2; Muhammad Ayub Shah LA-21 Ghazar 3; Muhammad Jafar LA-22 Ganche 1; Mufti Muhammad Abdullah LA-23 Ganche 2 and; Muhammad Ismail LA24 Ganche 3.

Result of LA-3 Gilgit 3 will be announced after holding re-election through 4 polling stations on November 18. Similarly, re-election and result for LA-17 Diamir will be announced later. (The News)